How to delete users on your Mac and free up disk space

If you have an account on your Mac that you no longer use and is taking up valuable disk space, you can delete it in just a few steps. Our guide will walk you through everything you need to do to delete users on Mac quickly and easily.

There are plenty of other changes you can make to fine-tune your Mac — if you want to use Split View on your Mac or learn some handy trackpad gestures, we’ve got you covered. But for now, let’s start deleting users on your Mac.

Alex Blake / Digital Trends

Make sure you have administrator access

Deleting a Mac user account requires you to have administrator access. You must be logged in to an administrator account and know the admin username and password to continue. You should also make sure that you’re not logged in to the account you want to delete — if you want to delete an administrator account, you’ll need to create another admin account and log in with that account first.

Step 1: Open the Settings app and select it Users & Groups in the left sidebar. You will now see a list of all the accounts on your Mac.

Step 2: Choose the small one i button to the right of the user account you want to delete. This will load a pop-up window where you can change the account name, reset its password, and change it to an administrator account (or revoke that status).

Step 3: In the bottom left corner of this pop-up window you will see a button that says Delete user. Select this button. You may have to enter an admin password the first time you do this.

The Settings app in macOS Sonoma displays the option to delete a Mac user account.

Alex Blake / Digital Trends

Step 4: Your Mac will give you several options on what to do next. You can save the account’s home folder to a disk image, which will save all its documents and information in case you want to restore the account later (a disk image of their files is saved in /Users/Deleted Users/). You can also leave the user’s home folder in place (which stores it in /Users/), or delete it entirely.

Step 5: Once you’ve made your choice, select it Delete user. The account will now be deleted.

The Settings app in macOS Sonoma displays options to enable or disable guest users.

Alex Blake / Digital Trends

Delete the guest user account

Creating a guest user means you can let friends, family, and coworkers use your computer without gaining access to any personal data stored in your account. This is useful if you want to let them use your Mac from time to time, but don’t want them messing with your personal account. And if you want to delete a guest account, it’s easy.

Step 1: As before, open the Settings app and open it Users & Groups.

Step 2: At the bottom of the account list, you will see one named account Guest User. Choose the small one i button on his right side.

Step 3: To delete a guest account, simply disable the button next to it Allow guests to log in to this computer. Choose OKAY when you’re done.

Step 4: The pop-up window where you can disable the guest user account also lets you adjust its settings. If you prefer to keep the guest user account active but want to restrict it further, you can restrict its access to adult websites and decide whether guest users can connect to shared folders using the buttons in this pop-up section.

Deleting user accounts on your Mac is easy and a good way to free up space on your computer. Provided you have admin access when you try to do this, it will take more than a few minutes.

Editor’s Recommendations






Leave a Comment